Bits + Pieces | A board game blog by GeekyGoodies.com | board game news, reviews, sales, contest, t-shirts, accessories, designers, interviews and much more

Board Game Upgrades and Improvements


For me personally, when it comes to gaming, theme is very important. But so are components! Like adding background music that matches the theme, adding new components that help improve the game experience can go a long way to enhancing the theme. A good game can be made a little more entertaining with some exciting or interesting components.

There are many places online to find upgraded components for our tabletop games but an often overlooked source is Etsy. Etsy is a global ecommerce platform for artists and creative businesses. There are plenty of talented gamers working on Etsy to help us all improve our games. I've compiled a list of a few of my favourite board game upgrades:

Please note: some of these items may have limited stock and may be out of stock by time you are reading this. Such is the nature of Etsy.

Handmade Board Game Tokens from VelveyDearest

Half Log Wood Resource Tokens Handmade https://www.etsy.com/ca/listing/291936653/small-half-log-wood-resource-tokens

Tusk/Ivory Resource Tokens https://www.etsy.com/ca/listing/508791548/tuskivory-resource-tokens

Stone Resource Tokens https://www.etsy.com/ca/listing/291937689/small-light-colored-stone-resource

Iron Ingot Resource Tokens Handmade https://www.etsy.com/ca/listing/278432010/iron-ingot-resource-tokens-replacement

3D Printed Accessories from 3DGameGear

Terraforming Mars 3D Tiles (Set of 80) https://www.etsy.com/ca/listing/526650475/terraforming-mars-game-gear-3d-tiles-set

King of Tokyo 3D Monster Figures https://www.etsy.com/ca/listing/533424459/king-of-tokyo-game-gear-monster-figures

Blood Rage Longboat Deck Holder https://www.etsy.com/ca/listing/485372559/blood-rage-game-gear

Colt Express Loot Tokens https://www.etsy.com/ca/listing/487378985/colt-express-loot-tokens

Settlers of Catan Fan Made Items from FanOfCatan

4 Player Custom Set for Settlers of Catan https://www.etsy.com/ca/listing/533837410/4-player-set-starter-settlers-of-catan

Advanced Custom 4 Player Set for Settlers of Catan https://www.etsy.com/ca/listing/533838078/4-player-set-advanced-settlers-of-catan

Handmade Board Game Tokens from epicycledesigns

Custom Cheese Wheel Tokens for Mice and Mystics (24 in a set) https://www.etsy.com/ca/listing/520200526/mice-and-mystics-custom-cheese-wheel

Pandemic Research Station Replacement Tokens (Set of 6)

https://www.etsy.com/ca/listing/184253141/pandemic-board-game-research-station

Colt Express Player Token Set Handmade Polymer Clay (set of 7)

https://www.etsy.com/ca/listing/483093487/colt-express-player-token-set-polymer

Rocket Ship Token https://www.etsy.com/ca/listing/193895332/rocket-ship-9-mars-needs-mechanics

Custom Board Game Pieces from JusttheNerdyBits

Kingsburg Polymer Clay Resources https://www.etsy.com/ca/listing/267695774/kingsburg-resources

Love Letter Tokens https://www.etsy.com/ca/listing/224436998/love-letter-tokens

Board Game Component Upgrades from bghq

Turbolaser Turret for X-Wing Miniatures https://www.etsy.com/ca/listing/513147467/xx-9-turbolaser-turret-for-x-wing

Hoth Shield Generator https://www.etsy.com/ca/listing/518755859/dss-02-hoth-shield-generator-x-wings

Arkham Horror Gate Stands (pkg of 8) https://www.etsy.com/ca/listing/510116448/arkham-horror-gate-stands-pkg-of-8

Death Tokens (pkg 24) https://www.etsy.com/ca/listing/523917957/arcadia-quest-death-tokens-pkg-24

3D Printed Game Tokens from Piecesofgame

Castle Panic 3D Tower Pieces https://www.etsy.com/ca/listing/234413488/3d-printed-castle-6-towers-6-walls-and-2

Guillotine Upgrade https://www.etsy.com/ca/listing/271187730/guillotine-upgrade

Patchwork Buttons https://www.etsy.com/ca/listing/271085319/patchwork-buttons

Tent Tokens https://www.etsy.com/ca/listing/234832067/colorful-tent-tokens-4-in-a-set

Custom Board Game Pieces from boardgamemodder

Plastic Airplane Board Game Tokens https://www.etsy.com/ca/listing/245738982/plastic-airplane-board-game-piece

Plastic Cyclist Board Game Tokens https://www.etsy.com/ca/listing/272738416/plastic-cyclist-board-game-piece

Wooden Arrows https://www.etsy.com/ca/listing/473151402/wooden-arrows

Plastic Dubloon Coins https://www.etsy.com/ca/listing/256652639/sets-of-plastic-dubloon-coins-board-game

Game Components from spielmaterial (on Etsy!)

Wooden Barrels https://www.etsy.com/ca/listing/525640240/10x-barrel-small

Sticker Faces for Meeple and Tokens https://www.etsy.com/ca/listing/525639704/stickerset-faces

Pandemic Player Tokens https://www.etsy.com/ca/listing/539448271/twinples-pandemic

Wooden Fish https://www.etsy.com/ca/listing/525640866/10x-fish

Acrylic Gaming Upgrades from BoardGamesFactory

Pandemic Virus Tokens https://www.etsy.com/ca/listing/173181693/pandemic-board-game-virus-tokens

5 Damage Heart Token (set of 10) https://www.etsy.com/ca/listing/294414161/5-damage-token-heart-set-of-10

3D Printed Miniatures from ProjectMobius

Set of 12 High Rise Hotels https://www.etsy.com/ca/listing/467366391/custom-3d-printed-monopoly-hotel-custom

Custom 3D Printed Scifi Game Tokens (Set of 8) https://www.etsy.com/ca/listing/475877702/custom-3d-printed-scifi-monopoly-game

Custom Chess Sets from WinkingBlindBats

Dracula vs Van Helsing Chess Set https://www.etsy.com/ca/listing/175933047/dracula-v-van-helsing-chess-set

Extra Large Fantasy Chess Set https://www.etsy.com/ca/listing/166991161/very-large-fantasy-chess-set

Custom Board Game Pieces from aXePropMoney

Prop Euros Money (50 Pieces) https://www.etsy.com/ca/listing/524297153/50-pieces-invalid-500-euros-bill

Invalid 100 Dollars Bills US American Money https://www.etsy.com/ca/listing/494701294/10-pieces-invalid-100-dollars-bill

Tell Us What You Do

What kinds of things have you added to your games to upgrade or improve the gaming experience? Send your responses to Chris [at} GeekyGoodies.com

All photos belong to the individual Etsy Shop owners and were used with permission.

#BoardGaming #boardgame #boardgame #BoardGame #BoardGamePimp #boardgames #BoardGameGeek #Meeple #meeples #BoardGameUpgrades #BoardGameImprovements #BoardGameMakeover #PimpMyBoardGame #TabletopGames #Etsy #EtsyFinds

414 views
CONTACT US

Chris Cormier, Owner/Designer

chris@geekygoodies.com

WE ACCEPT

All prices in US Dollars

You can also shop Geeky Goodies  on:  Amazon

 

And in Canadian Dollars on:  Etsy

CONNECT WITH US!
  • Geeky Goodies on Facebook
  • Geeky Goodies on Instagram
  • Geeky Goodies on Twitter
  • Geeky Goodies on Pinterest
  • Geeky Goodies on Board Game Geek
WE SHIP WORLDWIDE

United States: Flat rate $7.99
Canada: Flat rate $8.49
International: Flat rate $11.99

JOIN OUR NEWSLETTER

Stay up-to-date, receive our latest freebie, exclusive coupons, sales and much more!

Copyright © 2014-2020, Geeky Goodies. All rights reserved. Geeky Goodies is a division of ideas company.   |   Terms of Use